CHURCH OF ST.GEORGE
Built in 1835 over a much older church from the 16th century, the small church of St. George stands in the centre of Struga. It contains frescos from the end of 19th century, but its real treasure is a small gallery of icons from 13th to 19th century, including the well known icon of St.George painted in 1267. A long inscription on the back of icon mentions “Struga of Ohrid”,
The carved wooden iconostasis was created in 1847 in the spirit of the most beautiful masterpieces from Mijak woodcarving tradition, while the throne and celebration icons were painted in 1849/50.
During the middle of the last century, the rich cultural and artistic heritage of Struga and its surroundings that accumulated over centuries drew attention of the researchers. At the same time, along with the increased interest in fresco painting of the cave churches around the coast of the lake, medievalists showed a considerable interest in newly discovered icons in the Church of St.George.
In the summer of 1990, during the renovation of the roof of the church of St.George , there were discovered more than 50 icons dating from the 16th to the 19th centuries, too the great surprise of the cultural and scientific public. Through the centuries, these icons belonged to the church; they were either ordered by, or donated to, the church, or transferred from other churches from the Struga region, to find a shelter there during unsafe times of the Ottoman Empire. Now, the icons are completely protected and conserved, and exhibited in the Icon Gallery.
The icon collection of the church of St.George in Struga can be recognized as mostly post-Byzantine because there is preponderance of icons from the 16th and 17th centuries.
St.George, 13th c. The Holy Mother of God - Hodegetria 15th c.
St. John the Forerunner, 15th c. St. Georg(Life), 14th c.